It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

WinnDixie1

This week I decided to read Because Of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo. I loved this book! Before reading this book I had no idea it was a movie too! This is a story about a girl and her dog. Opal, the main character of this story, just moved to a little town in Florida with her father who is the pastor of a church there. One day she goes to the supermarket and the owner starts making a fuss. A dog was running throughout the aisles and knocking everything over. Opal says the dog is hers, even though it isn’t, and takes him out of the store. His hair is matted and he is very skinny. She goes home and asks her dad if they could keep the dog because the dog had no home or family. The pastor was hesitant at first but eventually says yes. She names the dog Winn Dixie and he goes everywhere with her and the pastor! He goes with them to the store, to church and everywhere in between. Opal wasn’t so sure about moving from her hometown because she had to leave all of her friends behind and she thought it was going to be hard making new ones. Throughout the book, she makes many different friends from many different places. Most of them are not her age but she loves them just as much. There are many series of events that take place in this book but I won’t spoil it for you! This was such a great book filled with so many different emotions! I think this would be a great book for older elementary kids. I think it would be fun to do a friendship unit on this with the whole class and then watch the movie at the end!

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. What a great summary over your book! I have heard of this book but never had the desire to pick it up, but now that I’ve read your summary I want to go get it! 🙂 good job on your post! You write great summaries over your books!

    Like

  2. Great post this week!! I loved your summary of Because of Winn-Dixie. I have seen parts of the movie and I have not read the book, but from what I can tell the book and the movie are very similar (but the book seems better).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never read this book. I have seen a little bit of the movie but not enough to know what really happens. You have a great summary that makes me want to read the book. I think its great to find even the best friendships within just a dog. I also love how this book seems to say that friendship can be with someone of all different ages it doesn’t just have to be with someone your own age. Great Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for posting this! I have been wanting to read Because of Winn Dixie, but forgot to add it to my list and might have forgotten had it not been for your post! It sounds like such an amazing book and I am so glad you read this book and enjoyed it. I have had it recommended a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This sounds like a very good book. I also have never heard of it or the movie. I will have to put it on my reading list. With all the great books I am getting on my list, I will have plenty of reading material all summer long!

    Like

  6. I really liked your summary of this book! My sister has seen the movie and she really liked it! I am going to have to add this book to my reading list! I like your idea for using this for a unit and watching the movie at the end!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment