Just Keep Yoga-ing

Go, go, go. It seems that that is all I have been doing this summer. Between three summer classes and two part time jobs, I don’t have much time for anything else. If I’m not at work, I am at the library doing homework and vise versa. I keep telling myself that it is only for one summer so how horrible can it actually be? Well, it has been BEYOND horrible. I’m usually not one to be a ‘Negative Nancy’ but man has this summer been rough!

These past couple of weeks in particular have been testing my patience and determination to keep going. I have been stressed to the max and sometimes don’t know how much more I can handle! For one of my other online classes I am required to do a service learning project. I have decided to raise funds and collect food donations for the local Backpack Program in Alliance. I have been busy planning, organizing, and advertising for my fundraiser and it has taken up ALL of my free time. I’ve only had like 23 anxiety attacks in the last week but other than that it has been totally fine.

Okay, so you’re probably thinking something along the lines of, “why is Tessa using her blog as a place to rant and tell us how horribly stressed she is?” Although it may seem like it, I’m really not trying to be a negative and pessimistic person! The moral of the story is that yoga has helped me through all of it.

14113771269_d214da0a0e_n.jpg Photo CC by Renuka I

I only attended the Wednesday session since there were no classes on Monday, the 4th of July. This yoga session was much needed to say the least. Everything about the session was so peaceful and calming and it was exactly what I needed after a busy week. Instead of focusing on mastering the poses I have learned in the past couple of sessions, I decided to focus on just being there. I was physically there but I wanted my entire being to be there; my body, my mind, my heart. I let go of all of my stress and frustrations and just focused on relaxing. It was so amazing to clear my mind and I could seriously feel all of the tension leave my body. How awesome is that?

So after my class at the gym, I decided my goal for the rest of the week is to try yoga to help my anxiety and stress. Thanks to Professor Ellington, I had the perfect resource for the job. Yoga with Adriene is a YouTube account by a lady who provides FREE yoga videos. She also has a website you can check out here. As I was looking through her YouTube videos, I came across “Yoga For Anxiety and Stress.” I can’t say enough how much I loved this video! It was short and sweet but still gave me the perfect amount of relaxation to help start my day. After completing these videos, I felt like a completely different person. It didn’t completely take away my stress and anxiety, but it gave me a sort of peace and relaxation to deal with the rest of my week. Along with completing these yoga videos, I also practiced positive thinking. I believe that positivity is key and once I removed all of the negative thoughts out of my mind, I was able to focus on positivity and relaxation.

I am sorry you all had to read through my boring and dreadful “rant” but I wanted to show you how amazing and beneficial yoga really can be. It doesn’t matter if you are dealing with stress, anxiety, migraines, etc. You name it and there’s yoga out there for exactly that. If you don’t have access to a yoga class in your area, I highly recommend subscribing to Yoga with Adriene and searching her videos to find a yoga video that suits you. I encourage you all to try yoga and experience the greatness for yourself!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Just Keep Yoga-ing

  1. It is perfectly fine if you want to use your blog to rant! People often use Facebook, but everyone needs to get it out some how! You will get through this summer just fine! It is worth it! Yoga is amazing. Where I live, during the school year, there are two yoga sessions a week offered at the college, and then throughout the whole year the YMCA offers yoga classes as well. I often went with my mother to a yoga class at least once a week. It was so relaxing and helpful, especially around finals week! I hope you continue to use this as a stress and anxiety reliever!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind and positive words, Ashton! It’s been a tough one but there’s only a few weeks left so I know I can do it! Yoga is great for stress relief and I hope you continue to do it as well! Thanks for reading and commenting!:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t worry about a rant! I think sometimes once we get going on this blogs it becomes easy to just let go and type. As I was reading through your rant I thought to myself, oh man she’s going to get to her yoga class and it’s going to be the best thing for her! Just the idea of having to sit and do your poses and that’s the only thing you think about will help your mind clear and your whole body just takes a deep breath. I’m glad you’re finding something that can really be helpful to you.

    Like

    1. It is very easy to just type and let go of everything. You’re right, going to yoga class WAS the best thing that could have happened to me that day! I am very relieved to have found something that takes away my stress and helps me clear my mind. Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

