Becoming a “Yogi”

After contemplating for hours last week on what my ILP should be, I decided to try yoga. I’ve tried yoga before by watching dvd’s but I wanted to attend an actual yoga class. My work schedule conflicted with yoga class on Monday night so I was not able to go.

Instead, I busied myself with researching about what yoga is and its history. Wikipedia defines yoga as “a physical, mental, and spiritual practice or discipline which originated in ancient India.” It is uncertain to how old Yoga actually is but there is evidence that it existed as early as 3000 B.C. Yoga’s main goal was to focus on understanding the world but the goal later changed. It is now used for self-enlightenment. Swami Sivananda created five basic yoga principles; proper relation, proper exercise, proper breathing, proper diet, positive thinking and meditation. I think a professional yogi has mastered all of these concepts and I strive to someday be like them!

9117978909_3a5bb648fc_c.jpg Photo CC-By Patrick Savalle

Another thing I was not aware of before learning more about yoga was that there are many different types of yoga. There is yoga for weightloss, stress, flexibility, and the list goes on and on! It’s crazy to me that something that has been around for so long still helps so many people today.

Like I said before, I was not able to make it to the Monday night yoga session but I was able to attend the one on Wednesday night. There was a total of three people there; the instructor, a lady from my church, and myself. It was really nice to have a small group because I get super nervous when there are a lot of people at an event. We started the hour off with some stretching and relaxation. The instructor was very helpful with making sure I was doing the poses right and answered any questions I had. One thing that is very crucial in yoga is making sure you are breathing correctly. I had some trouble with this but I think with more practice I will eventually master it. For the next hour, we worked on balance, flexibility, and strength. For the last ten minutes of the session we stretched and relaxed. We laid completely still for a full five minutes and I almost fell asleep!

I absolutely loved this yoga class. I felt rejuvenated and relaxed all at the same time when it was over. As for the second part of my ILP, I did not get to it this week but stay tuned because I plan on spending more time in the kitchen this upcoming week! I am so excited to attend my yoga class again and share what I have learned!

16 thoughts on “Becoming a “Yogi”

  1. Tessa, I strongly considered doing yoga for my ILP too! Sadly, I don’t have access to any classes in my small town! I’ve always thought yoga would be so relaxing! I’m glad your class went well and that you are enjoying yourself so far! Good luck on the rest of your venture!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Courtney! Even though you don’t have access to any classes I strongly recommend doing yoga online or by watching a video. I think it would be a great thing to incorporate into your ILP! Thanks for reading my post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad it has motivated you to want to commit more to yoga! Just from attending one class I know it is something that I will continue to do. I love it! Thank you for reading my post!:)

      Like

  2. Yoga is such a great idea for an ILP, and something you can continue after the class is over. I think it was important that you researched yoga and the history as I believe it’s important in the learning process. It’s also wonderful that you were able to attend an actual yoga class. I currently do PiYo which is a mix between yoga and pilates, but it’s all on DVD. I would love to attend an actual class. I’m excited to hear everything you learn through this project.

    Like

    1. It was great to learn about the history of it before beginning it because it made me appreciate it more. I did DVD’s for a while but I just think you get so much more attending an actual class. Thank you for reading my post! 🙂

      Like

  3. I know a lot of people that do yoga, and they LOVE it!! I’m so glad that you had such a positive experience. 🙂 I don’t know much about yoga, but I know that it’s a lot of hard work. Can’t wait to hear more about your journey with it!

    Like

  4. Tessa, I am enjoying reading your posts. I have wanted to learn how to do yoga too. I think its great that you had the opportunity to work closely with an instructor who helped you! I’m excited to hear more about your yoga journey and also your stories from the kitchen!
    Cara

    Like

  5. Tessa, I like yoga! I like you am pretty much a beginner so I usually need help with some poses and remembering to pay attention to my breathing. But you’re right it is so relaxing! My sister is a huge ‘yogi’ so she is all about the poses what types of yoga workouts she’s looking for, she watches a lot of video’s as her work schedule doesn’t work with anytime for an actual yoga class but she always goes when we’re on vacation because she can find a class and time and usually I get dragged along, but I never mind it, I do have to say my favorite part is laying still in the quiet for at least 5 minutes, it’s the best 5 minutes, your thoughts are cleared, your body is stretched and you just feel good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

