Failure Isn’t Always A Bad Thing

Failure is something that everyone experiences. We all have failures, big and small. Unfortunately, the world doesn’t welcome failure as acceptable. Most people don’t go out of their way to applaud you for failing at something like they do when you succeed. Society puts such a horrible connotation on the word failure. It’s almost as if it leaves a bitter taste in your mouth once you say it.

But why is failure seen as such a bad thing? We live in a society where success is acceptable and failure is not. Personally, my failures have been something I have learned from. If one thing didn’t work I’m going to try another way at doing something. Maybe a subject in school just wasn’t for me so I’m going to try something different. But if it is something I am super passionate about, I am going to try and try until I succeed at it.

27554690005_95dcfe8d01_n.jpg Photo CC- By Kyle Pearce

“Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker. Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end. Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing.”-Denis Waitley

For this week’s assignment, I chose the TedTalk “Learning to Fail” by Tara Suri and Niha Jain. I really enjoyed watching this video because they explained that even when we fail, we should always be willing to talk about it. Society wants us to push failure under the rug and that isn’t right. I completely agree with Suri and Niha. When we do fail, we need to be open about it. There’s people in the world that may be skeptical and ashamed of their failures but by setting an example and talking about personal failures, it may teach them to open up about their own failures.

As a future educator, I think it is crucial for my students to learn that failure isn’t always a bad thing. Most importantly, when you do fail you should always be willing to talk about it and share your experiences. If we teach students this at a young age, they will hopefully take failure with a grain of salt and never give up on their passions.

2 thoughts on “Failure Isn’t Always A Bad Thing

  1. I really liked this TED talk, thanks for sharing your post! Failure is a great thing in my eye, it means that you tried at doing something. We learn best from our failures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

