The New Age of Technology

With this generation of new technology, a lot of people can’t say they grew up with absolutely no technology. I am 20 years old and my first cell phone was during my freshman year of high school and the only reason my mom allowed me to have one was because she needed to know where I was ALL THE TIME.  I don’t remember ever playing on an ipad or ipod growing up and rarely ever watched television or played games on the computer. Today, it seems that that is all kids do to pass the time, but maybe it was just how I was raised. Call me old fashioned, but I don’t necessarily think technology makes everything “better”. There are plenty of pros to technology but there are plenty of cons as well.

Before this class I had no idea what digital literacy was and how it incorporated into the classroom. Digital Literacy is the ability to use and master skills and knowledge on technological devices such as computers, smartphones, tablets, etc. Many different social media websites fall into this category: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc. But digital literacy goes beyond being able to tweet or post a picture on instagram. Digital literacy is becoming a way of life and has replaced many basic ways of doing things in life. Fortunately, there are many resources out there that can help make exploring this new concept easier. Microsoft has many different resources on their website that helps with getting started with digital literacy and much more.

8 thoughts on “The New Age of Technology

  1. The only reason I got a cell phone was for the same reason; my parents wanted to know where I was and what I was doing if I was not at home. I remember playing one computer game at my home, but this was when I was much younger, and somehow, I managed to break it. I work at a YMCA and it is so sad to see that, even though kids are on the basketball court, they are often not playing a game or anything. Instead, they are often sitting on the bleachers on their phones, or even laying on the court on their phones. There are many cons to technology, I will agree with you there, but the technology world keeps advancing. I do know how to use technology in many ways, but, like you said, it is becoming a new way of life, and I do not see myself living my life this way, or understanding how to. I must be old fashioned as well.

    Like

    1. It is very sad to see kids so involved in their cell phones and ipads when they should be focused on playing outside and having fun! But I also believe that it is the parents fault. They are the ones who allow they children to participate in this. Thank you for reading my post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think all people our age got a phone for that reason as opposed to now. I guess I have the advantage of being really “techy” and I also have ben drilled with digital literacy. I understand that technology is hard but that is why I am becoming a Info Tech teacher. So I can help people like you!

    Like

  3. Tessa, I too feel very old fashioned when it comes to technology, and I’m starting to feel even more so lately in my 2 summer classes I’m in this summer but more the other class then this one. Slowly I know we’ll get there with our skills in technology, maybe not as fast at the younger ones since that’s all they know but we’ll get there! 🙂

    Like

  4. Tessa, I agree with you! I grew up in a time where we didn’t have cell phones, dvd’s, cd’s or even internet! If I wanted to talk to friends, I either called them on the house phone, or talked to them in person. I do miss those times tho..It gave us a chance to communicate better without the technology. Technology is a good thing but not when it consumes our day to day lives. I understand that there is a need for it, but when it consumes a person, then it can become dangerous. For me, it is a hard concept to grasp that it is becoming more common in the classroom. I too need to be patient and try my hardest to learn all about it for the classroom so that I can help students who may struggle with it too.

    Like

    1. It is so easy to become consumed by technology and social media! I was the same way before this class and didn’t really think technology had an effect on the classroom and shouldn’t be used in the classroom. After learning about all of the resources and tools technology offers, I have grown to like it. I think as long as it is used in moderation, it will be a great asset to the classroom! Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

