It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

For my four hours of reading this week I decided to read two juvenile fiction books. One of them was “The Meaning of Maggie” written by Megan Jean Sovern.meaning-of-maggie_9781452110219_norm

This was a fantastic book! It is about a girl named Maggie who is extremely smart. She is only eleven but she acts like a mature adult. She lives with her mom, dad and two older sisters whom she refers to as her “hot” sisters. They dont pay much attention to her because they are older and too cool. Their mom stays home with them and does all of the normal housewife duties until one day when their dad quits his job. He has a disease called Multiple Sclerosis which is an autoimmune disease that affects the brain and spinal cord. His disease has gotten so serious to the point where he is not able to do his normal tasks at work. So the mom takes over and the dad stays home. He isn’t capable of doing some of the tasks at home so the girls have to step up and help. Maggie doesn’t really know what is wrong with her dad. She knows of the disease but doesn’t know how it progresses. Throughout the book, Maggie learns more about her dad and his disease. I had no idea this book was about MS but was very surprised when I started reading about it! I can relate because my mom has had Multiple Sclerosis for about 22 years now so I know some of the things that Maggie was going through. Even though this book was somewhat more serious than other books, the author tied in some humor as well. I was laughing throughout the book! I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone and I think it would be great for middle school kids!:)

ALEXANDER_TERRIBLE_HORRIBLE

The next book I read was “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst. I read this book because I recently watched the movie and loved it! It was basically like the movie but different things happened to the book Alex than the movie Alex. I thought this book would have had a happier ending like the movie did but it didn’t. It was still a good book and the illustrations were fun to follow along with as well.  I won’t spoil it because I’m assuming most of you have or will see the movie!

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Sometimes life surprises us like finding out “The Meaning of Maggie” was a young girl struggling to understand her father’s MS, something like you probably went through. Because I do not have any sons I have four daughters and my two grandchildren are girls I tend to overlook books geared towards boys, I am trying to correct that. Thank you for your reads this week I will add them to my list.

    Like

  2. I just started The Meaning of Maggie! I’m really liking it so far and was pleased to see a good review here on your blog–makes me want to get back to reading. Alexander was one of my favorite stories when I was little–that’s how old it is! The author has a couple of sequels too, which aren’t quite as good, I think, but are still worth reading. My husband and son saw the movie and they both liked it. I thought the preview made it look way too different from the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

