My Life as a Reader

As I look back on my life as a reader before this children’s literature class, I realize how much time I didn’t devote to reading. College has been busy so I haven’t been reading as much as I have like and I was afraid I would never get back into it and enjoy it as much as I used to. This class has proved me wrong! I have picked up many books since the beginning of this class and have enjoyed it just as much. Although I have to actually have to have an interest in the book first! I find that I really enjoy the children’s books with great illustrations. I love looking at the pictures because it really adds to the story. I also love the books that have a moral to the story. Though they may be short, they still teach children the value of different things and you leave the story feeling better in a way. Another type of book I really enjoy is the young adult books that would most likely be for middle school kids. I didn’t think I would enjoy them as much as the children’s book but the last book that I just read proved me wrong. They don’t have pictures but they go deeper into the story unlike a children’s book would. They still teach lessons but in a different way. For the last reading assignment, I read a young adult that was some what of a mystery and I loved it! I love books about friendship and would enjoy reading one of those in the near future.

5 thoughts on “My Life as a Reader

  1. I completely agree with you about how being in college you don’t feel like you have enough time to do any reading. Before I go to college I would read for fun all of the time. I haven’t read a single book since I got to college until this class. I am really glad that these assignments have helped me get back into reading.

    Like

  2. Books appropriate for readers up to age 14 work for this class, so perhaps you’d like to focus your reading on middle grade for the rest of the semester? I have a blog post with recommendations of some of my favorites: http://thedirigibleplum.wordpress.com/2014/05/23/thirteen-middle-grade-titles-to-booktalk/
    But also look at this list on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/choiceawards/best-childrens-books-2013

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

